You are here

MERA - The Association for Sustainable Manufacturing Announces Board Election Results

Date: February 22, 2019

David Overbeeke, president and CEO, Brake Parts Inc, has been reelected as chairman of MERA - The Association for Sustainable Manufacturing. Overbeeke begins his second term overseeing the association’s strategy to enhance member value and achieve future growth. Peter Butterfield, chairman and CEO, Omega Environmental Technologies, was also reelected as an officer. Butterfield served as MERA chairman for two years, in 2016 and 2017, and will continue to serve on the executive committee in his role as immediate past chairman.

During Overbeeke’s first term, MERA updated its industry-first publication on the accounting and taxation of cores (scheduled for release in 2019), advanced the Manufactured Again Certification program, and continued to represent the interests of the remanufacturing industry in Washington, D.C. by working closely with the MEMA Government Affairs Office. In addition, he oversaw the rebranding and successful positioning of the association in the sustainable manufacturing field to better reflect the vision of the organization and the role of its members in the marketplace.

“It is an honor to have Dave Overbeeke serve a second term as MERA chairman,” said John Chalifoux, president and chief operating officer, MERA. “With Dave’s leadership and entrepreneurial spirit, we will continue to make great strides on behalf of our members.”

MERA also elected Russ Schinzing, president, Advanced Aftermarket Solutions, to its executive committee as vice chairman. Schinzing has been a leader in electronics and mechatronics remanufacturing for more than 25 years and will take on key duties in shaping the future of MERA.

Furthermore, the association welcomes the addition of four respected industry leaders to the MERA Board of Directors: Robert Enright, general manager, new and recon parts, Cummins; Brian Lewallen, president, Detroit Reman; Jay Robie, chief executive officer, Phoenix Automotive Cores; and Allen Wilkie, general manager, LKQ Best Automotive. Each industry veteran brings valuable experience to the MERA Board.

“Along with congratulating Russ Schinzing on his election to the MERA executive committee, I believe our newest directors will help usher in a new era for manufacturing,” said MERA Chairman Dave Overbeeke. “I look forward to working with MERA leadership and staff as we continue our work on behalf of the membership in the sustainable manufacturing industry.”

The remainder of the MERA Board of Directors is comprised of: Michael Cardone III, executive chairman, CARDONE Industries; John Chalifoux, president and chief operating officer, MERA; Bill Long, president and chief executive officer, MEMA; Justin Greenberg, chief executive officer, DieselCore; Selwyn Joffe, chairman, president and CEO, Motorcar Parts of America; Enrico Manuele, regional president, automotive aftermarket N.A., Robert Bosch LLC; Scott Miller, vice president, remanufacturing, LKQ Corp.; Dave Olsen, chief executive officer, TransAxle; and Paul Schuck, managing director, Undercar Express.

About MERA
At MERA - The Association for Sustainable Manufacturing - our network of sustainable manufacturers, suppliers, universities, and professional services firms promotes the economic, environmental, and product performance benefits of remanufacturing and similar forms of sustainable manufacturing.  MERA is a division of the Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA), which has been advocating on behalf of the mobility supplier industry since 1904.  With roots in the transportation industry, MERA represents the interests of the broader remanufacturing community across multiple industry sectors.  MERA is also the home of Manufactured Again Certification, where manufacturing and sustainable manufacturing are held to the same international quality standards.

Printer-friendly version